If you have ever seen the movie the History of the World, you know about the part when Moses goes on the mountain and comes down with his “15 commandments.” then he drops a tablet and exclaims, ” here are my 10 commandments!”

Today’s post is not about those commandments funny or real; it is rather my fitness commandments based on science and my experience over my 12 year  career. Over the next few weeks, I will break down those principles and attempt to apply them to our training.

These principles of training have been around for a while and have brought fitness success to the user for many years now. They will do the same for you if you begin to incorporate them into your programming and training. It will take some thought and practice but in time you will begin to think by using these laws to train.

These rules (if you would) are as follows and I will write about each one in a post over the next few weeks and we then can discuss how to apply them to each of our own fitness training.

  • First have a goal and plan
  • Track your progress
  • Recover from your training
  • Individual differences
  • Overcompensation
  • Overload
  • The S.A.I.D Principle
  • The use/disuse principle
  • The Gas principle
  • The specificity principle 
  • If it makes you feel better, I will put a “thou shalt” before every post when I write them. Just to further cement the thought into your mind and to hopefully make you laugh a bit. So pay attention to this blog and subscribe if you haven’t to get all of these posts and to join in on the fun!
Comments
  1. […] the useful information that I have learned over the years of study, training myself and others! (click here to see post # […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

