If you have been reading this blog for a while, you will know that my dog Zoey is my dear friend and that she teaches me lessons at various times. The last one that I learned from her was about being even bolder when necessary. (You can read about it here) Just lately I have been contemplating another lesson that this dog is teaching me and that is enjoying the simple things while being content.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that I have become someone whom has no desire to get and do better. Just that I am learning how to enjoy life more in spite of the fact that I am not completely where I want to be in my goals. I watch Zoey live and play every day, she will grab a stick and munch away at it as if it were the most wonderful play toy ever and yes and boxes as well. They become fun playthings for her to tear up and carry around as she goes about her day.

 (Cute puppy warning!)

As I have watched her live and play for over a year now, I have learned that I make things too difficult for myself. I worry about some arbitrary standard that I set up for myself that just ends up stealing the joy out of my life and causes me not to live in present moment. Don’t get me wrong, I am not advocating not working hard or living in some goalless existence, but that I have decided to balance out my life with work and some play when I can. Most of all, I have decided to enjoy the things that I must do. I will enjoy my barbell, kettlebell and movement work. I will and do enjoy my writing projects; I will enjoy helping others and working hard on their behalf in order to help them experience real and lasting change in their fitness and health.

You see the conclusion that I have come to is that we all must do things in order to survive and live the best that we can. Just like Zoey must be a dog and do the things that dogs have to do. Yet she enjoys every moment of it. So today and for the rest of my life, I will enjoy the little things and adopt a perspective of joy as I go about my days. Will you join me in this endeavor? Will you choose to be happy and enjoy the small things? If you do, you will have a better quality of life and be a lot better to be around as a result!

Leave a Reply

