I wake up early in the morning, have long days. That consists of training people, writing blog posts, helping my online clients and answering questions on forums in order to help others. Plus I have responsibilities at home that have to be taken care in order for my wife and my lives to be the best that they can be. So the thought of adding something else to my fitness training and life didn’t seem like it was going to happen.

 

 

As a result every time I thought about how I could add in today’s point I would come to the conclusion that I just couldn’t and that would have to be it. Until I realized that if I began to practice this ingredient of fitness that my dog and wife would also benefit from my choice. So I began to make time by getting up the same time every day and using that time for today’s main point and that is; vigorous walking!

 

 

You see, it is so simple that many people miss it. Especially people like myself that lift heavy often and getting stronger / more conditioned is their goal. I knew about the benefits of walking for health, wellness and even fitness. However, I just needed to make time and get started doing it. Maybe you are like me and you just need a little shove to get started or you spend quite a bit of time on aerobic training as it is and don’t think that walking could benefit you.  So, I am here to tell you that it can even if you are already fit!

 

 

 

 

Walking as an activity alone has many benefits for your health and fitness here are some:

 

  1. Reduce the risk of coronary heart disease
  2. Improve blood pressure and blood sugar levels
  3. Improve blood lipid profile
  4. Maintain body weight and lower the risk of obesity
  5. Enhance mental well-being
  6. Reduce the risk of osteoporosis
  7. Reduce the risk of breast and colon cancer
  8. Reduce the risk of non-insulin dependent (type 2) diabetes

 

 

Now that  you are aware some of the other benefits of this simple activity than just burning calories and training your cardiovascular system. Also for the strength athlete or weight lifter it is a powerful aid in recovery and better balancing out your hormones. Maybe by now you are willing to begin a walking program in addition to your strength and conditioning program, but aren’t sure how to go about it. It is simple to do walk with effort or briskly, as if you were trying to get away from an embarrassing relative for 20 minutes to an hour.
Also do it every day, it won’t mess up your other goals. In fact it will most likely help you get to them even faster! Plus you will get all of the wonderful benefits that are listed above and have a nice time to think about  and plan out things as you walk. Or you can do like I do and take your dog with you (you just have them keep them moving. They like to smell everything!) and you will help them use up some energy and keep the little (or big) buggers healthy in the process! It is a win-win for the both of you!

 

             ( Zoey the wonder dog after our daily walk. Observe how happy she is!)

 

 

Now that you are aware of some of the benefits of walking and how it will help you go ahead and get started today! Then you too will begin to experience them for yourself and get fitter and healthier with the aid of this simple form of exercise and movement that never hurt anyone. You will also begin to feel better and have a clearer mind as well, you can’t lose!

 

Are you still confused by your health and fitness goals?

Do you need help trying to figure out how to balance everything out in order to make progress?

My online coaching program will help you cut through the confusion and give a progressive program will get you to your goals!

Leave a Reply

