Breathing Huh?

Posted: December 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

Before I start on today’s post which is my first one ever on here, let me introduce myself.  My name is Moses Correa  I am A fitness trainer and have been for 10 years now. My journey has brought me to so many places and linked me up to some very awesome people. I have worked in large gyms, done in home training and worked in and am presently working in a small center. I say this to say I have learned and seen quite a bit in my career and have come to the conclusion that many important steps in fitness are ignored.(and I will try to cover them all in future posts) Now one of the most important ones that I will try to cover today is breathing. You may say what do you mean breathing? Don’t we all breathe? And the answer of course is a yes if you are alive.) The automatic breathing that is taken care of in the brainstem is not what I am referring to. Rather I am going to post about the biomechanical breathing match. That is a smart way to  say that your breathing matches your movement or exercise you are doing. The form of breathing I choose to use is breathing in on the negative of the exercise and out on the positive part. (concentric and eccentric portions) Now as more research comes out we are finding in the exercise community how bad it is not to breath in a controlled manner (oops!) One of the consequences of not focusing on matching up your breathing with your movement.  Is simply that your brain is not getting enough oxygen and neither are your working muscles and it is hard to learn a new movement or properly practice an old one. Also it will lessen your actual work capacity. So if you want to be effective and safe you must control your breathing. I will post in the future on how to effectively do that so stay tuned and train smart.

Comments

Leave a Reply

